Table of Contents
This feature is used in conjunction with the Employee Communications product. If you have not purchased this product, then you will be unable to access this feature and its functionality.
A communication can be duplicated to speed up the creation of similar communications.
Use cases
- Sending the same communication to users but with different documents depending on each employee’s state.
- Correcting an error in a communication that has already been sent out.
- Note: If a communication has already been sent out to at least one user, then it cannot be edited. In these instances, the next best option the user has is to archive the erroneous communication and duplicate it, instead of rebuilding the communication from scratch.
Communications with the duplicate functionality
Duplicate functionality can be used for certain statuses and communications. These are outlined below.
|
One-time |
Milestone |
|---|---|---|
Draft |
Yes |
Yes |
Scheduled |
Yes |
N/A – Users cannot schedule a milestone communication. |
Active |
Yes |
Yes |
Paused |
N/A – Users cannot pause a one-time communication. |
Yes |
Completed |
Yes |
N/A – Milestone communications cannot be completed. |
Archived |
Yes |
Yes |
Duplication process and logic
To duplicate a communication, users with full access to the Communications permission can complete the following steps.
- Select All Apps in the top left corner of the header and then Communications from its drop-down menu.
- From the left panel, open the preferred communication's section and then whichever list underneath it.
- Find and hover over the preferred communication in the list.
- Select its action menu, or ellipses, and then Duplicate from its drop-down menu.
The duplicated communication will then be added to the list.
When a communication is duplicated, the Communication Builder will automatically open with pre-filled content from the duplicated communication. The user can make any modifications to this information, as if they were creating a new communication from scratch.
- One-Time Communication: When a one-time communication is duplicated, only the audience that the user has permissions to view will be copied into the new communication.
- Milestone Communication: When a milestone communication is duplicated, the configuration will be copied over exactly as it is in the original. This is because most of the values are stored as free text, so permission checks cannot be ran.
The Delivery step for a duplicated communication will not be pre-filled. If you are duplicating a scheduled communication, that scheduled date will not be carried over to the new communication unless you manually set it up to use the same date.