Table of Contents
This feature is used in conjunction with the Employee Communications product. If you have not purchased this product, then you will be unable to access this feature and its functionality.
The Communications app provides the ability for users to send one-time, milestone, or automated communications to employees at the locations that are assigned to them. All communications are sent to the selected employees via the employee AI phone number configured during implementation. This number is stored in the Employee AI Phone Numbers section of the Phone Numbers page.
When a communication is sent to an employee, the system will use the following communication hierarchy to determine the way in which the employee will receive the communication:
- Personal Phone Number
- Work Phone Number
- Work Email
- Personal Email
Important Notes:
- This channel priority can be customized in the Delivery step of the Communication you are creating.
- An employee will receive an opt-in confirmation message before they receive the first message from any short code or long code number that they have not previously received messages from.
Navigation
To navigate to the Communications app, simply click the All Apps menu and then select Communications under the Employees section of its drop-down menu.
- Note: A user must be assigned to a role with at least view access to Communications in order to see this app.
Communications page

When the Communications page opens, you will find quick action buttons that allow you to quickly create communications. Options include:
- One-Time Communication: When clicked, this will open the Communication Builder with One-Time Communication already selected as the communication type.
- Milestone Communication: When clicked, this will open the Communication Builder with Milestone Communication already selected as the communication type.
- Templates: When clicked, this will open the Communication Builder with Milestone Communication already selected as the communication type and the 30 Day Check-In template added.
You can also select one of the following from the left panel in order to view a list of the corresponding selection. Options include:
Communication list actions
From each communication type list, you will be able to take a series of actions, such as archiving, editing, pausing, deleting, and more. Learn more about these actions from the associated links below:
- Archiving a communication
- Deleting a communication
- Duplicating a communication
- Editing a communication
- Pausing/resuming a communication
- Viewing a communication
- Sharing a communication
Permissions
-
Milestone Communication: A user with full access to milestone communications can view any milestone communication created by any user, but only view the responses to a communication from employees that they have permission to. They can create and duplicate milestone communications as well as edit, archive, pause, and delete milestone communications that they created.
- Ability to Share: This provides users access to see the Share option on all milestone communications in any status. Providing users this option allows them to share the configuration of a communication with others as a way to expedite the communication build process.
- Edit Access to all Milestone Communications: This provides users access to edit, archive, and delete any configured milestones for the communications that they’ve created as well as those created by other users.
- Templates: This provides users access to edit, disable, and use templates from the Templates section of the Communications page.
-
One-Time Communication: A user with full access to one-time communications can view any one-time communication created by any user, but only view the responses to a communication from employees that they have access to. They can create and duplicate one-time communications as well as edit, archive, and delete one-time communications that they created.
- Ability to Share: This provides users access to see the Share option on all one-time communications in any status. Providing users this option allows them to share the configuration of a communication with others as a way to expedite the communication build process.