System logic difference between the Edit Job action and the Candidate Mobility feature
Table of Contents
Users can move candidates from one job to another in one of two ways. Please review the system logic associated with each process.
Edit Job functionality
To edit a job, you will need to follow the process below.
- Open the preferred candidate's profile.
- Click the …More button in the top right corner above their profile.
- Select Edit from its drop-down menu.
- Update the Location field.
- Click Save.
The current Edit Job functionality only renames the candidate’s job title in their first application. It does not account for the following areas:
- This feature does not handle changing to jobs that have different job requirements, such as having different attributes, forms, conversational answer requirements, and/or candidate journeys.
- The status that the candidate goes into when they are moved is unknown; however, the candidate usually loses all progress and goes into Capture Complete status.
- The candidate is not informed through communications that they were moved or when they were moved to a new job, which is a possible compliance risk.
If the Manual Candidate Mobility feature is enabled for your account, then you will not see the Job and Location fields when editing a candidate's information. This is due to encouraging the use of this feature, as it has more advanced capabilities than simply updating the candidate's job and/or location.
Manual Candidate Mobility functionality
To use the Manual Candidate Mobility feature, you will first have to have it enabled on your account. From there, you can update the candidate's job by completing the steps below:
- Open the preferred candidate's profile.
- Click the …More button in the top right corner above their profile.
- Select Move to Job / Invite to Apply from its drop-down menu.
- A slide-out drawer will open. Update the Location field, if preferred.
- Select from any of the jobs available.
- Note: Jobs that are turned off may also display.
- Select the preferred status to move the candidate into.
- Review and update the notification sent to the candidate about their job change.
- Click Move Candidate / Invite to Apply.
The Candidate Mobility functionality allows you to set the location, job, and status of the candidate to ensure that they are following the correct hiring process for the job that they are moved to. In addition to this, they receive a notification about the job change as well as have their attributes, documents, forms, and assessment data tied to the new job versus the old one.
It is important to note that the original application is kept just in case the candidate does not consent to moving to the new job.