Table of Contents
This feature is used in conjunction with the Employee Communications product. If you have not purchased this product, then you will be unable to access this feature and its functionality.
Communications can be edited at any time to correct a mistake or update a document in the communication. It is important to note though that users will only be allowed to edit communications that have not been sent to any user yet.
Communications with the edit functionality
Communications can only be edited if they have not been sent out to any employee yet and are beyond 30 minutes of being sent to an employee. The following statuses and communications will allow for editing.
|
One-time |
Milestone |
|---|---|---|
Draft |
Yes |
Yes |
Scheduled |
Yes |
N/A – Users cannot schedule a milestone communication. |
Active |
No |
Yes – If a communication has been not been sent to anyone yet. |
Paused |
N/A – Users cannot pause a one-time communication. |
Yes – If a communication has been not been sent to anyone yet. |
Completed |
No |
N/A – Milestone communications cannot be completed |
Archived |
No |
No |
If a user desires to edit a communication that has already been sent out, they should instead archive the communication and then duplicate it to create a new one. From there, any changes they desire.
Edit process
To edit a communication, users with full access to the Communications permission can complete the following steps.
- Select All Apps in the top left corner of the header and then Communications from its drop-down menu.
- From the left panel, open the preferred communication's section and then whichever list underneath it.
- Find and hover over the preferred communication in the list.
- Select its action menu, or ellipses, and then Edit from its drop-down menu.
- The Communication Builder will then open where you can make and save any necessary changes.
Edit logic
- When a communication is edited, the Communication Builder will open with all of the communication’s original information. Users can then update and save the communication as needed
- The system does not store a record of the past versions of the communication.
- There are no restrictions around what information can be changed when making an update to Draft and Scheduled communications. For other communications, the Communication Type field will be uneditable.
- If a user matched the original configuration, but after edits, they are no longer the intended audience, then they will not be sent the communication. This applies to both one-time and milestone communications.
- If a user is editing a communication and time elapses so that the communication is now within 30 minutes of being sent to an employee, then a modal will display informing them that the communication is about to be sent out and thus their changes cannot be saved.
- The user can dismiss the modal, but they will be unable to save their changes in the builder. This is useful if they want to copy their changes to their clipboard before exiting. Otherwise, if the user selects the Back to Communications button, they will return to the Communications page.
Permissions
In order to update communications, the user must first be assigned to a role that has full access to Communications. In addition to that, the user must have permissions to modify an individual communication. These permissions are different depending on the type of communication.
- One-Time: Only the original creator of the communication and Paradox Admins can edit the communication.
- Milestone: Currently, any user with full access can edit these. This is because the milestone audience is constantly changing based on the configuration rules.