Table of Contents
IMPORTANT NOTE: It’s not possible to deactivate locations in Location Management or via feed/API for accounts still using Integrated ATS Jobs, Client Jobs, or Group Management.
You can deactivate and reactivate location when you have location closures and want to preserve your historical location data while blocking new activity across the system.
Only users with permission to delete a location can deactivate or reactivate it. The Unassigned and Remote locations cannot be deactivated.
Deactivate a location
Users with full access to Location Management can deactivate a location:
- Select the All Apps button in the top left corner of the header and then Settings in its drop-down menu.
- When the Settings page opens, select Location Management under the Permissions section.
- Location Management will then open. From the left panel, open the preferred area folder and then location that you want to deactivate.
- In the upper-right corner of the Location Profile, select Active and then choose Deactivate.
- The system checks if the location is the preferred or only location used in critical active components (jobs, event forms, conversations, CMS audiences, and other areas).
- If deactivation is blocked, a modal displays the components preventing the action. You must select View Details next to the component listed and then Update to remove the location from those mandatory configurations before proceeding.
- If deactivation is allowed, move to step #6.
- Select Deactivate to confirm.
The location is then marked as deactivated and a visual indicator is added next to the location.
Logic for deactivated locations
- Visibility: Deactivated locations show up in the search results and the side navigation but are clearly and visually differentiated from active locations.
- Management: All user permission and location attribute management can still be performed on a deactivated location.
- Data Integrity: You cannot create a new location that uses the same Location ID as a deactivated location unless the Allow Duplicate Location IDs setting is explicitly enabled.
- Hard Delete Option: The option to permanently delete a location remains available but is de-emphasized. A warning modal will display before deletion, recommending deactivation instead.
- Tentative Locations: These cannot be deactivated. Merging a tentative location with a deactivated location will automatically reactivate the location.
Reactivate a location
- Select the All Apps button in the top left corner of the header and then Settings in its drop-down menu.
- When the Settings page opens, select Location Management under the Permissions section.
- Location Management will then open. From the left panel, open the preferred area folder and then location that you want to reactivate.
- In the upper-right corner of the Location Profile, select Deactivate and then select Reactivate.