Assigning employees to a manager (employee visibility permissions)
Table of Contents
This feature is used in conjunction with the Employee Communications product. If you have not purchased this product, then you will be unable to access this feature and its functionality.
Managers are assigned employees via their access to employee chat and visibility permissions. By updating a user’s role, you are able to set their employee permissions in the Employee Communications product.
Assign employees to managers
Employees are assigned to managers via the Employees and Employee Visibility permission in Roles and Permissions. To assign users to employee groups, contact your CS Representative for assistance.
View employees
Navigation
Select the All Apps button and then the Employees app from its drop-down menu.
All Employees list view
The All Employees list view is comprised of all employees that the logged in user has permissions to. It will include:
- All employees from the My Employees list, if displayed for the user.
- All employees that the logged in users assigned to the same location(s) as the manager.
- All employees assigned a user role that the logged in user can view or manage.
This list will not display if the logged in user does not have a My Employees list and does not have at least view access to another user role.
My Employees list view and Reports To logic
The My Employees list view will only display under the condition that the logged in user is listed in the reports_to column for an employee in an Employee Feed, meaning that their employee ID is added and mapped to the reports_to field. The employees that report directly to the logged in user will appear within My Employees. Please contact your CS Representative if you have questions about the reports_to field.
-
Notes:
- If the logged in user is within the
reports_tohierarchy, meaning they are 3-4 levels above someone that directly reports to them, then they will be able to have a one-on-one conversation with the employees below them as well. - The
reports_tocolumn designation will provide a user access to view an employee even if they do not have access to that employee in Roles and Permissions.
- If the logged in user is within the
This list will not display for users if the logged in user is not listed in an employee’s reports_to column in your Employee Feed. This is the only way to mark direct reports within the product.
Deactivated employees
Users can be granted the permission to manage and/or view the Deactivated Employees list view are located under the Employees permission within Roles and Permissions. Please contact your CS Representative to grant or restrict user access to this permission.