Table of Contents
This feature is used in conjunction with the Employee Communications product. If you have not purchased this product, then you will be unable to access this feature and its functionality.
You can archive a communication in order to stop sending a communication that has already been sent out to at least one employee or declutter Communication lists.
Communications with the archive functionality
Archive functionality is applied to certain statuses and communications. These are outlined below.
|
One-time |
Milestone |
|---|---|---|
Draft |
No |
No |
Scheduled |
No |
N/A – Users cannot schedule a milestone communication. |
Active |
Yes |
Yes, if the communication has been sent to at least one person. |
Paused |
N/A – Users cannot pause a one-time communication |
Yes, if the communication has been sent to at least one person. |
Completed |
Yes |
N/A - Milestone communications cannot be completed. |
Archive process and logic
To archive a communication, users with full access to the Communications permission can complete the following steps.
- Select All Apps in the top left corner of the header and then Communications from its drop-down menu.
- From the left panel, open the preferred communications section and then whichever list underneath it.
- Find and hover over the preferred communication in the list.
- Select its action menu, or ellipses, and then Archive from its drop-down menu.
The communication will then move to the Archived list.
When a communication is archived, the system we will stop sending content to and collecting responses from any additional users immediately, regardless of how much content is left to send in the communication. However, in some cases, the user will still have content from an archived communication that they can respond to via SMS or the dashboard, if enabled for the communication.
SMS
When a communication is archived, the user will still have access to the last content that was sent to them, as it will be stored on their phone. In general, the system will wait until the user responds to that content before we inform them that the task was archived. Regardless of the type of content last sent, the system will not send the user any more content from the communication after they are informed that it was archived.
Archive messages
When a communication is archived, the following experiences will take place:
- Message / Media / Question / Survey: Your AI Assistant will respond to the user with the following message: “This task was archived and can no longer be completed.”
- Fillable Document / Non-Fillable Document: As soon as the communication is archived, any links to these documents will be disabled. If an employee clicks on these documents, they will be redirected to a Content Not Found page.
Documents in archived communications
A document might be referenced in multiple communications, but they are stored separately on the backend. This means that archiving a communication will only disable the links for the document from that specific communication. Any other communications that reference the same document will work as expected.
Recruiting Dashboard
When a communication is archived, employees who were sent that communication may still be able to access the last content that was sent to them, depending on if they are currently viewing their dashboard at the moment the communication is archived.
User is not viewing their dashboard at the time of archiving
If the employee is not currently on their dashboard when the task is archived, then the task will be removed immediately. Any old emails that contain a link to this archived task will still direct the user to the dashboard; however, when they land on the dashboard, they will be greeted with a modal informing them that the task was archived and is not accessible anymore.
User is viewing their dashboard at the time of archiving but not actively responding
If the user is currently on their dashboard but not currently responding to the task that is archived, then it will be removed immediately. We will display a toast message informing the user that the task has been archived but not disclose any information about the archived task, as it could be sensitive.
User is viewing their dashboard at the time of archiving and actively responding
- Note: This experience may look slightly different depending on what type of content the user was responding to when they were interrupted.
Media content experiences
- Message / Media / Question: Same flow as the Recruiting Dashboard experiences.
-
Fillable document:
- If the communication is archived before the user has opened the document, then the system will display the Task Archived modal immediately. After the modal is dismissed, the system will replace the buttons on the task card with the Task Archived tag and update the document card in the chat drawer to use the archived state.
- If the employee has already opened the document when the communication is archived, then the system will interrupt the user the moment the communication has been archived. The system will display the Task Archived modal on top of the document view modal. Dismissing the Task Archived modal will also dismiss the document view modal, and the card in the chat drawer will be updated, informing the user that the task was archived.
-
Non-Fillable Document:
- If the communication is archived before the user has opened the document, then we will display the Task Archived modal immediately. After the modal is dismissed, the buttons on the task card will be replaced with the Task Archived tag and update the document card in the chat drawer to use the archived state. This is the same logic as for fillable documents.
- If the user has already opened the document when the communication is archived, then the user will be interrupted by the Task Archived modal displaying, the chat drawer updating with the Archived banner, the buttons being replaced on the task card, and then finally the task being removed. While this is very similar to the fillable documents case, a main difference is that when the document card is shown in the chat, it will show in the Complete state (instead of Archived) since the user was able to view the document before it was archived.
- Survey: The employee will be interrupted at the moment that the communication is archived. Whichever question they are currently on will not be answerable. All of their responses to questions that they did answer before the communication was archived will be stored.
View archived communications
After a communication has been archived, it will be removed from its current list and moved to the Archived list for its type of communication (One-Time or Milestone).
You can view archived communications by clicking into the communication from the list and viewing its details in a slide-out drawer.
Permissions
In order to update communications, the user must first be assigned to a role that has full access to Communications. In addition to this, they must have permissions to modify that individual communication. These permissions are different depending on the type of communication.
- One-Time: Only the original creator of the communication and Paradox Admins can archive the communication.
- Milestone: Currently, any user can edit these. This is because the milestone audience is constantly changing based on the configuration rules.