Visual Editor: Save and publish changes
Table of Contents
Content changes made in the Visual Editor can be saved as a draft and previewed before publishing to the live site. Saving and publishing are separate actions.
Save changes
Saving commits your edits to the Preview site. Changes are not visible to candidates on the live site until published.
To save your changes after making your desired edits on a page:
- In the lower-left corner of the left panel, select Save.
The changes are then saved.
You must save your changes before navigating to another page. If you select a different page with unsaved edits, select Cancel to return and save, or Discard Changes to leave without saving. Note that your discarded changes cannot be recovered.
Preview changes
To review your changes before publishing, you can select Preview in the upper-right toolbar.
Select Preview again to return to editing mode.
You can also return to the Visual Editor in the Site Studio, copy and paste the link address under Site Domain and Preview, and enter it into your browser to view the preview site.
Enable Visual Editor Publishing
The Enable Visual Editor Publishing setting controls whether the Publish button is available in the Visual Editor. This setting is managed by a career sites developer in the Code Editor.
When the setting is off, users can save and preview changes, but the Publish button is not available. When the setting is on, users can save, preview, and publish changes to the live site.
To enable publishing, a career sites developer must:
- Open the career site in the Code Editor.
- Enable the Enable Visual Editor Publishing setting.
If Publish is unavailable in your Visual Editor, contact your career sites developer or CS Representative to confirm this setting is enabled.
Publish changes
Publishing makes saved changes live on the career site. Publish is only available when saved (unpublished) changes exist and the Enable Visual Editor Publishing setting is on in the Code Editor (controlled enabled/disabled by your developer).
Publishing makes saved Visual Editor changes live on the career site. Publish is only available when saved (unpublished) changes exist and the Enable Visual Editor Publishing setting is enabled.
To publish your changes:
- In the lower-left corner of the left panel, select Publish.
- In the Review & Publish Visual Editor Changes drawer, review your changes across your career sites pages. You'll see:
- The name of the page that was edited
- The amount of changes being published.
- The user making the change
- The date and timestamp that the edit was saved
- If needed, confirm your changes by selecting Preview to enter preview mode.
- After reviewing all changes, in the lower-right corner, select Publish.
If no conflicts exist with in-progress developer code changes, the changes publish immediately.
If you want to undo a publish, select Undo Last Publish in the upper-right toolbar. You can then select Undo Publish in the lower-right corner of the drawer to revert your previous Visual Editor changes.
Manage publishing conflicts
If your changes overlap with unpublished developer code, a warning displays before publishing:
Unpublished Developer Code: There are unpublished developer code changes on preview. Publishing these content changes may affect your content on the live site. Are you sure you want to continue?
You can select between the following options:
- Cancel: This returns you to the editor. Ensure to coordinate with your developer before proceeding.
- Publish Content: This publishes your changes to the live site. Ensure to use this only after confirming with your developer it is safe to proceed.
If your changes do not conflict with any developer code, they publish immediately.