Edit user permissions to Journey stages
Table of Contents
You can determine user permissions a Journey for each stage or individual status. This page walks through how to configure user permissions for an entire Journey stage, ultimately applying permissions to all statuses within a stage.
Before you begin
- Review permission options for each stage type in the Journey stage and status permissions overview.
- Stage types that use stage-level access only: Set access levels for stages here. Set Action Needed permissions in Edit user permissions to Journey statuses.
- All other stage types: Set access for the whole stage here, or per status instead in Edit user permissions to Journey statuses.
Update stage permissions
You cannot use stage-level and status-level access configuration on the same stage at the same time. You choose one approach per stage.
Permissions can be updated from the preferred Journey. To do this:
- Select the All Apps menu in the top left corner of the header and then Settings in its drop-down menu.
- When the Settings page opens, select Journeys under the Automation section.
- Open the preferred Candidate Journey.
- Select the settings icon next to the + Add Stage button in the bottom of the left-most panel and then Edit Permissions.
- The Permissions Settings page will then open to the Journey's first stage. If you want to edit a different stage, select it from the left panel.
- A warning may pop up, notifying you that any stage level permissions will clear and override existing status level permissions. If you are okay with applying one permission configuration to this stage's statuses, then select Confirm.
- Note: If selected, then all employee roles will be granted Full Access to all stage permissions and Action Needed permissions for statuses that have Highlight next step as action needed for employees enabled.
- A listing of all user/employee roles will then display. If you want certain employees to have their own set of permissions for this stage, then select the Edit Employees button in the bottom right corner of the list, search for and select the preferred employee(s), and select Apply.
Individual permissions take priority over employee role-based permissions.
- You can update permissions:
- Individually – Click into the Permission Level selector and update it to the correct permission. Available permission levels depend on the stage type. Learn more here.
- In bulk – Select the preferred user roles in the list, click into the Update Permissions button that appears above the list, and then select the preferred permission level. Ensure to select Confirm & Save.
- If Highlight next step as action needed for employees is turned on for the stage, then you can adjust this capability on an individual user role level under the lightning icon column.
- Note: Only user(s)/user role(s) with Full Access to a stage can have this capability added/removed.
- Note: For Form, Offer, Application, Onboarding, Survey, Conversation, Capture, and Background Check stages, Action Needed permissions are configured at the status level only.
- Select Save Changes in the top right corner of the stage section.
- Repeat steps #5-10 for all stages you want to adjust.