Contact Us

If you still have questions or prefer to get help directly from an agent, please submit a request.
We’ll get back to you as soon as possible.

Please fill out the contact form below and we will reply as soon as possible.

    English (US)
    MX Spanish (Mexico)
    CA French (Canada)
    US English (US)
    • Home
    • Candidate and User Engagement
    • Channels

    Deactivated/Retired phone numbers

    Written by Lindsey Stanifer

    Updated at August 19th, 2026

    Contact Us

    If you still have questions or prefer to get help directly from an agent, please submit a request.
    We’ll get back to you as soon as possible.

    Please fill out the contact form below and we will reply as soon as possible.

    • Getting Started
      Setting up your calendar Managing your alerts Additional Settings
    • Daily Processes
      Candidate Inbox Candidate Profile My Calendar/Calendars Browser Extension My Jobs Approvals Engine Manual and Common Scheduling Practices Form I-9 processes Troubleshooting Forms & Offers
    • Candidate and User Engagement
      Campaigns Conversation Builder Surveys Channels Talent Community Voice Web Management Analytics & Reporting Data Privacy Career Sites
    • Management Tools
      Job Management Scheduling Security Journeys Content Management System (CMS) Multiple Brands Workflows Users, Roles and Permissions Data Feeds Location Management Lookup Tables Assistant Messaging Company Information Client Setup System Attributes Integration Center
    • Contextual AI
      Knowledge Training Library
    • Conversational Events and Campus
      Conversational Events Campus Events
    • Employee Communications
      Communications App Employee Management
    • Release Notes
      2025 2026
    • Workday Feature Descriptions
    + More

    Table of Contents

    CEM visibility

    When a phone plan subscriber ends their subscription or transfers their number to a different mobile/wireless carrier, the original carrier will mark the number as “deactivated” or “retired.” The deactivated numbers are eventually recycled and reassigned to new owners, but if you are not notified, then the new owner of that phone number could receive your account messaging when they haven't opted in to receive those messages. 

    To prevent this from happening and, subsequently, having your messages be flagged as spam, filtered by carriers, or your company potentially be charged fines from the FCC (Federal Communications Commission), Paradox notes in the system when a candidate's or user's phone number was deactivated and removes it from the system.

    This feature applies to US-based candidates only, as the deactivated numbers list only includes US numbers.

     

    Deactivated number process

    In order to remain compliant with laws and regulations relating to opt-in consent, you can only message people who have opted into receive messages. If someone has a deactivated phone number, then any person who purchases the new phone number should not be messaged. 

    Paradox uses Twilio’s deactivation protocol API to retrieve a list of phone numbers that carriers have confirmed are deactivated by the end user. If any of the phone numbers currently belonging to candidates or users are found on the list of deactivated numbers, then they are removed from the CEM. Deactivated numbers can no longer receive notifications from the CEM unless the new owner of the number decides to apply to one of your jobs.

    CEM visibility

    Candidate or Employee Profiles that have deactivated phone numbers will have text denoting that the number was deactivated in the Phone Number field. These profiles will not have phone numbers available anymore, preventing the CEM from sending SMS messages to the profiles that do not have a phone number attached to them.

    Was this article helpful?

    Yes
    No
    Give feedback about this article

    Related Articles

    • Deactivated / Retired phone numbers

    Copyright 2026 – Paradox.

    Knowledge Base Software powered by Helpjuice

    Expand