Contact Us

If you still have questions or prefer to get help directly from an agent, please submit a request.
We’ll get back to you as soon as possible.

Please fill out the contact form below and we will reply as soon as possible.

    English (US)
    MX Spanish (Mexico)
    CA French (Canada)
    US English (US)
    • Home
    • Getting Started
    • Setting up your calendar
    • Company-wide scheduling options

    Update scheduling settings by user role

    Written by Kat Holtz

    Updated at August 11th, 2026

    Contact Us

    If you still have questions or prefer to get help directly from an agent, please submit a request.
    We’ll get back to you as soon as possible.

    Please fill out the contact form below and we will reply as soon as possible.

    • Getting Started
      Setting up your calendar Managing your alerts Additional Settings
    • Workday Feature Descriptions
    + More

    Table of Contents

    Use cases Update scheduling settings Scheduling settings prioritization Override logic Permissions

    You can mass update scheduling settings for any user role in your account. This allows you to reduce manual effort and time for configuring scheduling settings individually for each user, ensuring that you can standardize scheduling settings across multiple user roles.


    Use cases

    • Customers who want to easily enforce consistent scheduling configurations and practices across all user roles.
    • Customers who want to streamline the setup and rapid deployment of new scheduling policies, ensuring quick compliance or standardization across their entire organization.

    Update scheduling settings

    When scheduling timelines are set on the company level, then they cannot be set on the user role level.

     

    Users with full access to Roles and Permissions can update interview start times on a per user role basis. You can configure scheduling settings for a user role by following the steps below:

    1. Select All Apps in the top left corner of the page and then Settings from its drop-down menu.
    2. In the Permissions section of the Settings page, select Roles and Permissions.
    3. Select Roles and Permissions from the left panel.
    4. Find the preferred user role.
    5. Select its action menu, or ellipses, at the end of its row and then select the Edit button in the menu that opens.
    6. Scroll down to the Scheduling permissions.
    7. Select the settings (gear) icon next to the access selector to open a slide-out drawer.
    8. In the Availability Controls section, you can define the role's availability boundaries, which include:
      1. Default Interview Limit – Set the maximum number of interviews, or the default interview limit, that users can have within a specific timeframe.
      2. Interview start time control – Define the intervals at which a user's availability is displayed to candidates. This helps reduce sporadic gaps by preventing random interview times.
      3. When filling group interviews with multiple candidates – Choose which group interviews to prioritize when filling with multiple candidates. Options include the following:
        1. Fill existing group first
        2. Use any available times
    9. In the Default Interview Preferences section, you can define the default interview settings, which include:
      1. Default type – Set the standard type of interview.
      2. Default duration – Set the standard duration of the interview.
      3. Default interview location – If you have selected an in-person interview option, then this setting will display, where you can set the standard location for interviews.
    10. As adjustments are made, a Set as default for which users? box will display for each setting. Make your selection from the two available options:
      • Only Where Not Configured – This applies changes exclusively to users within the user role who do not have their own personalized settings.
      • Override All Existing – This applies changes to all users within the user role, overwriting any of their previously configured settings.
    11. When all changes and preferred default save selections are set, then select the Apply button in the bottom right corner of the drawer.
    12. Select Save in the upper-right corner above the permissions table.
    13. If more user roles need to be adjusted, select the back arrow next to the current user role's name above the table and then repeat steps #4-12 for each role.

    Scheduling settings prioritization

    By default, the system will prioritize scheduling settings in the following order:

    1. User
    2. User role
    3. Location calendar

    This will ensure that if multiple scheduling settings are set on an account, the system will pull the most relevant times for the user.

    Override logic

    When updating scheduling settings on a per user role or location basis, Company/Account Admin users can choose between Override All Existing, which applies the new value to all users/roles/locations, regardless of previous customizations, or Only Where Not Configured, which only updates interview start times that have not been individually customized.


    Permissions

    By default, Paradox Admins will have access to make these changes in Client Setup. Users will need full access to Roles and Permissions (under the Employees, Roles And Permissions parent permission) to make the above changes.

    conversational ats integrated ats

    Was this article helpful?

    Yes
    No
    Give feedback about this article

    Related Articles

    • Company-wide busy days
    • Company-wide scheduling timelines
    • Update scheduling settings by location
    • Company-wide open interview times

    Copyright 2026 – Paradox.

    Knowledge Base Software powered by Helpjuice

    Expand