Table of Contents
Conversation Builder is home to the configuration of conversations that drive all of our candidate engagements. Here, users can create a new conversation using a conversation template or custom conversation. Once published, these configured conversations can be selected across the CEM to be used in various ways, including screening candidates for jobs.
Conversation Builder lists

All conversation types will display in the left panel along with a count of how many conversations have been created for each. By selecting a type, the right-hand side will update to display all of the conversations created using that conversation type.
- Note: If a conversation has its targeting set to Journey Targeting Candidates, it will not display in this view when you do not have Journey Targeting enabled for your account.
List columns
The Conversation Builder’s lists include the following columns:
-
Conversations – The name of the conversation.
- Note: This is a sortable column. Click on the dropdown arrow to sort this list alphabetically.
- Locations – If locations were added to the conversation, then they will be displayed here.
- Source Type – The values in this column represent where the conversation is being used across the CEM.
- Type – The values in this column represent the type of conversation that was created. When viewing All Conversations, this column is helpful to delineate between conversations.
- Status – This column communicates the current publishing status of the conversation. It will return values of Draft, Unpublished, and Published.
- Last Edited – This is the date that the conversation was last edited by a user.
Row actions

Within the list, you can hover over the row and click the action menu, or three dot icon. When doing so, the following actions can be taken:
- Edit – This will bring you directly into the Conversation Builder to edit and save your conversation.
- Duplicate – This will create a duplicate conversation which will be displayed as #conversation-name (Copy) in the list view.
- Delete – This will permanently delete the conversation.
Note: A conversation that is being used across one or more source types cannot be deleted. The conversation must be removed from each source type before it can be deleted. If you attempt to delete a conversation before removing it from each source type, then you will see a modal informing you of all the places where the conversation is currently in use.
Create a new conversation
On any page within Conversation Builder, click + Add Conversation to create a new conversation and then select one of the two available options:
- Add New Conversation – This option brings you into the builder and allows you to select from one of our many conversation templates. More on this conversation type here.
- Add Custom Conversation – This option brings you directly into our Custom Conversation Builder where you can build an extremely custom conversation from scratch. More on this conversation type here.
Permissions
The below permissions outline a user role's default access to the Conversation Builder.
| User Role | Full Access |
View Access |
No Access |
|---|---|---|---|
| Paradox Admins | |||
| Company/Account Admin | |||
| Full User - Edit Everything, Power User | |||
| Full User - Edit Nothing | |||
| Basic/Limited User | |||
| Supervisor | |||
| Hiring Manager | |||
| Recruiter | |||
| Reporting User | |||
| Franchise Owner | |||
| Franchise Staff |